Owensboro Reception Celebrates Community Artists

Dan Griffith OH art committee member Greg Strahan OH COO Mary Carothers artist Barbara Harriman Cathie Medley OH art committee e1375979126823 1

Owensboro Reception Celebrates Community Artists

DAS was honored to attend a special Artists Reception at Owensboro Health Regional Hospital in Kentucky on July 13, 2013. The event was held to recognize and welcome the 71 original artists who contributed to the art program at the hospital, which opened its doors on June 1. Approximately 150 people attended the reception featuring tours of the artwork, recognition of donors and remarks by several dignitaries.

Jeff Barber, DrPH, president CEO of Owensboro Health, spoke on behalf of the Arts in Healing Committee. “We are very proud of the Arts in Healing Program, and we thank you, the artists for creating such beautiful pieces of art to grace this campus for years to come,” said Dr. Barber.

Dove Release 2Highlighting the event was a symbolic dove release, coordinated by artist Mary Carothers who created the Floating Seeds installation in the hospital’s main lobby. The doves represented devotion, faith and hope, love and peace and were released to commemorate the dedication of the Arts in Healing Program. They took flight during a beautiful ceremony filled with prayers, hopes and wishers for everyone who will pass through the hospital doors for years to come. Mother Nature cooperated with the event by providing a gorgeous rainbow backdrop for the return of the doves.

“Distinctive Art Source was thrilled to have the opportunity to meet and work with so many local artists in and around Owensboro,” says Barbara Harriman, DAS president. “There is so much talent in this community and so much joy. We thank everyone for lending their talents and time to this project.”


Pictured above: (left to right): Dan Griffith, Owensboro Heath Art Committee member; Greg Strahan, Owensboro Heath COO; Mary Carothers, artist; Barbara Harriman, president, DAS; Cathie Medley, Owensboro Heath Art Committee member.